Sartorial Sundays: Fashionable Mentors

Howdy guys, Alex here.

Oh man, I’ve been all over the shot this week. Birthdays, work (lots and lots of work…) make-or-break dinners… I’ve barely had time to sit down, let alone write. Basically, what I’m trying to say that I’m sorry that the blogging output this week has been lacking a bit. Hopefully, this should be rectified in the coming week (I have plans. Many plans…)

Anyway, given that I’ve finally found a spare five minutes I thought I’d write a quick Sartorial Sundays post. Now I know I’ve already included two characters from the Buffyverse, but you know what? There’s a lot of good fashion on show there. So what the heck, I thought, there’s one more character whose style I really want to profile, and this post was born. Without further ado, here’s some rather fetchingly dressed mentors and teachers – always infinitely cool, whatever the series in my opinion – headed up by the chap that inspired this list.

Rupert Giles, Buffy the Vampire Slayer – The Country Gent 

Yep, Buffy’s Rupert Giles – everyone’s favourite tweed-wearing, sorcery-wielding Watcher, librarian and general Englishman-at-large. Long before the Eleventh Doctor picked up on the trend, Giles was rocking heritage-wear – and, on occasion, kicking ass in it. Jackets, waistcoats, cardigans, funky pastel ties… Oh man, I love his style more than words can say…

And let’s not forget that one episode where he reverted to his teenage, punky self (reclaiming his old nickname ‘Ripper’. Such coolness).

Awesome.

Sirius Black, Harry Potter – The Dapper Wizard

In general, I find the fashion sense of the Harry Potter world a bit dull. School-uniforms and capes are cool enough, I suppose, but very little stands out. And before you say it, yes, I know, wizards don’t get muggle clothing, but their general dress is all a bit frumpy. Hells, even Harry dresses dully and he was raised in suburban surrey. No excuses. The exception to this is the magnificent attire of Mr Black. Once he’s successfully escaped prison and found time to refresh his wardrobe, Sirius cuts a fine figure in a mix of sombre velvet frock-coats, waistcoats (with chains! So cool) and dark patterned shirts.

It’s a damned fine mix, and manages to look really slick while remaining suitably otherwordly and wizardy. Well done, sir.

Dracule Mihawk, One Piece – The Chic Conquistador

I’ll be honest – I’m not a massive fan of much of the character design in One Piece. It all  a bit over-the-top and wacky for my liking, and has hampered my attempts to throw myself into the series as I would like (I’ve still never caught up, and I’m not sure I ever will…). I do, however, really love Dracule Mihawk – his design and character are just awesome. Zoro’s eventual teacher rocks a long coat with contrast sleeves (very in…) and a bodacious hat. Effortlessly cool with a serious latin vibe, the whole thing is perfect for his rougish, wine-drinking, suave persona.

One thing’s for certain: no matter how hot the One Piece action gets, Ol’Dracule will be looking ice cool.

Professor Augustine Sycamore, Pokemon X and Y – The Hipster Prof.

Say what you like about the more recent Pokemon games, but their professors keep getting cooler. Sycamore, in particular, is one trendy chap, with his ankle-grazer trousers, open shirt and rolled sleeves. It’s all very hip, happening and modern, though I do wonder about the red sock/brown shoe combo. Eh, nobody’s perfect.

No matter, though: Sycamore remains the trendiest professor around, proving that just because you devote your life to science doesn’t mean you can’t look good doing it.

So there you have it: as ever, I’d love to hear what you think!

Until next time,

Alex

2 thoughts on “Sartorial Sundays: Fashionable Mentors

    • You know, I think I agree. Originally thought that none could top Giles’ tweedy perfection, but those velvet waistcoats are things of beauty… Thanks for reading :D

Leave a Reply

